Grounded

This last week I’ve been grounded. My wheels, or more specifically my knees, have been out of action since I took a tumble off my not so trusty stead last Sunday. No-one else and no moving vehicles were involved. Just wheel, curb, knees, tarmac. *Ouch*

Other than the swelling, bruising and challenges negotiating stairs, the most inconvenient and annoying thing is getting about town sans velo. I’ve realised I’m totally lost, consistently late and lethargic without my bike. Walking is SO slow. Buses never come. Tubes are packed. Eurgh. The only, extremely small benefit I can see is being able to dress in the mornings without a cursory thought of ‘will I be able to cycle in this?’. Then I realised that most of my clothes can be fashioned for freewheeling freedom.

Drawing by Emily Wilkinson, a very lovely birthday present.

Other bike related presents included a new bling bell, a beautifully illustrated book about global fixed-gear bike culture inspiring lots of ‘I want one of them’ comments and a cleverly hand-crafted and dead stylish Cath Kidston-esque reflective sash inspired by cycle fashion pictures on The Guardian website which my friend and fellow bike-belle Erica made.

Now all I need to do is to get back in the saddle.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Grounded”

  1. emilywilkinson Says:

    aw, grumpy lower half of face there, I can see you’re sulking about the lack of bike! Loving the sash, so you

  2. Nathan Says:

    whoa everyone’s got blogs all of a sudden! I’ve started cycling around brighton. Not a total convert yet, but i’m starting to see what all the fuss is about.

    Hope your knees feel better soon. N

Leave a Reply

